Apple Music Buy on Amazon HDtracks
Ástor Piazzolla — Genius of Tango
Release date : Apr. 17, 2020
Label : Affetto Records
  1. Invierno Porteño, arr. for violin, horn and piano
  2. Michelangelo ‘70, arr. for violin and piano
  3. Café 1930
  4. Fugata
  5. Milonga del Ángel
  6. Vardarito
  7. Ave María (Tanti Anni Prima)
  8. Introducción al Ángel
  9. Primavera Porteña
  10. Otoño Porteño
  11. Escualo
  12. Soledad
  13. Libertango
  14. Resurrección del Ángel
  15. Oblivion
  16. Adiós Nonino
  17. Le Grand Tango


facebooktwittergoogle plus

Ástor Piazzolla’s greatest masterpieces are given a fresh new interpretation in transcriptions for Violin, Horn, and Piano by three acclaimed artists – Grammy®-nominated violinist Elmira Darvarova (former Concertmaster, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra), hornist Howard Wall (New York Philharmonic) and pianist Thomas Weaver. After performing their Piazzolla tribute program internationally at prestigious venues in Europe and America (including Carnegie Hall), the artists have now also recorded it for a double-CD album presenting 14 world-premiere recordings (14 out of 17 tracks). “Ástor Piazzolla – Genius of Tango” introduces the artists’ transcriptions from Piazzolla’s original scores. The inclusion of horn brings a new dimension and richly rewarding symphonic sonorities. Several of the arrangements are by the late great tango pianist Octavio Brunetti (named by the New York Philharmonic “the inheritor of Piazzolla’s mantle”), with whom violinist Elmira Darvarova performed and recorded for several years.