The Thirteen
Apple Music Buy on Amazon
Matthew Robertson — The Thirteen
Release date : Oct. 28, 2016
Label : Affetto Recordings
  1. 1. Stella caeli Walter Lambe (1450/1 - c.1499 or c. 1504) 6:22
  2. 2. I love, loved Robert Fayrfax (1464-1521) 2:05
  3. 3. Ah Robin, gentle Robin William Cornysh, Jr. (d. 1523) 2:26
  4. 4. Hélas Madame King Henry VIII (1491-1547) 2:32
  5. 5. Salve intemerata Thomas Tallis (c. 1505-1585) 16:40
  6. 6. If ye love me T. Tallis 2:00
  7. 7. Vox patris caelestis William Mundy (c. 1529-1591) 17:48
  8. 8. Sweet heart arise Thomas Weelkes (1576-1623) 1:33
  9. 9. Quam pulchra es King Henry VIII 5:47
  10. . Fair Phyllis I saw John Farmer (c. 1570 - c. 1601) 1:55


facebooktwittergoogle plus

The Thirteen is an all-star professional choir best described by National Public Radio commentator M.D. Ridge: “to talk about the remarkable abilities and sound of the individual singers would… be like trying to say which whitecaps on the ocean reflect the sun most beautifully, or which leaves on a tree dance most gracefully with the wind… I stand in awe.” Described as having “a tight and attractive vocal blend and excellent choral discipline” (American Record Guide), The Thirteen draws its artists from among the finest ensembles in the world, including Chanticleer, Seraphic Fire, Apollo’s Fire, Conspirare, I Fagiolini, Opera Philadelphia, Boston Early Music Festival and Trinity Wall Street. “Voice Eternal” presents a virtuosic program of music by Tudor-era composers that explores musical upheaval during the English Reformation through music that is at times epic, intimate, majestic and joyful. With works by Thomas Tallis, King Henry VIII, John Farmer, Thomas Weelkes, Robert Fayrfax, Walter Lambe, and William Cornysh Jr., this album by The Thirteen makes this powerful music come alive for 21st century audiences. Affetto Records introduces an album which presents surprising contrasts and spell-binding harmonies by one of the nation’s most-compelling up and coming ensembles, The Thirteen.